Bad Blogger

Oi.  I have been a bad blogger lately.  I have got to get caught up!  :)

Big news:  We said yes to the baby boy in Uganda!  
So what happens from here?  I’m not sure.  LOL.  Here is what I do know.  Our lawyer emailed today and said that he should have paperwork for us to sign sent out on Monday.  He (the lawyer) is supposed to go to baby boys village on Thursday of next week to investigate, check everything out, etc.   Starting the week after that (a week from this coming Monday) a spot will be run in the newspapers in Uganda with information on baby boy and his picture.  He was abandoned so nothing is known about his family.  This will give his family or any relatives a chance to come forward and claim him if they want.   From what I hear this isn’t very common, especially in abandoned babies, but it has to be done. 

And yes, he has a name and no it is not baby boy.  :) The name he has now is the name that was given to him by the orphanage director when he was found.  We will probably be giving him a new first name and keeping the name the orphanage director gave him as a middle name.  We have no way to know his birth name.   Names are still up in the air though. 

Things are still a bit shaky until we have an all clear from the lawyer in regards to his biological family.  If they come forward they could very well decide they don’t want him adopted internationally.  It isn’t likely that will happen, but we want to be prepared for anything.  

In other news:

I have a couple of senior portraits booked in the next coming months.  This is a first for me.  I’m nervous.  :)  But I’m going to practice on family before I start photographing strangers.  I’ll let you know how those come out. 
I took my sister out to a railroad track out near my house and we had fun doing some pictures there.  I’ll have to get them edited and up soon.

K & F are doing great.  K is in 2nd grade this year – I just can’t believe it.  She is so smart.  She is now taking horse back riding lessons and continues with her piano lessons.   She is also now involved in an after-school program at our local community center which she loves and it is a good social outlet for her.    F. is doing great – still a really big boy! He is 2.5 years younger than K. but they are exactly the same height right now.  I know he weighs more than she does, but am not sure what they weigh right now.  He just started violin lessons yesterday!  He has been waiting all summer for this – my mom kept telling him he would start in the fall, and he was so excited when the day arrived!  He is also going to preschool a couple of hours a day, three times a week.  He absolutely loves it and can’t wait to go every morning.  I can’t believe how big they are getting. 

My parents are doing a fundraiser for our adoption by doing ten 5k’s in 100 days.  Pretty cool huh?  They did the first 5k and have another coming up soon.  You can find details on their blog – and sign up to sponsor them too!  www.makemeagrandma.blogspot.com

Keith has been running too -and ran his first 5K.  Pretty awesome.   There is no way I could run that.  I am so not a runner.  LOL.

A couple of random pictures:

P9030832

Took the kids to an indoor waterpark.  Fun!

P9180906

Keith crossing the finish line!

P9180926

K & F got medals too!

2 Comments to “Bad Blogger”

  1. Oh my gosh, congratulations!!!!!!
    That is wonderful news!!!
    Keep us posted on the progress, k?
    Hugs!!!

  2. Wow Salem, that is so cool! I hope it all works out- keep us updated. Praying for things to go smoothly for you.

Leave a Reply

