Waiting…

Not only are we waiting for our little boy in Uganda…but we are also waiting on news of our little guy in Haiti.

Oh, how I miss my Schnider-bug. We haven’t seen an update on him in a while.  He looks so grown up in the last picture we received. He’s 2 years old 5 months old today. I can’t believe he’s almost 2.5! I can’t believe I have not seen him for over a year. This last year has been so crazy – so much sadness and so much happiness. Losing a baby and gaining a baby in the same year….it sure stretches the heart in ways I had no idea it go.

So now, as we prepare for our new son I start thinking about the months ahead. In particular, Christmas.

Our Christmas with Schnider was incredible – I loved having a baby and experiencing Christmas as a family. But it was also bittersweet…as much as we loved him, he wasn’t ours. I knew that it was probably the only Christmas we’d spend with him. That was very hard.

Last Christmas, only two short months after we took Schnider back to Haiti, I prayed that it would be our last Christmas as a family of two. It was a hard Christmas. VERY HARD.

This Christmas we are preparing to be with our new son. We pray we’ll be home in time for Christmas celebrations. What a wonderful Christmas that will be…our first one with our son. I know we’ll also be sad missing our sweet Schnider, but I hope the excitement and joy we feel of being home with our son will overshadow some of the sadness we’ll feel.

What a jumble of emotions this last year has been. I know things will only get easier from here – they have gotten easier as the months have gone by…but I do hope to spend another Christmas with Schnider some day. Perhaps there is a family Christmas vacation to Haiti in our future somewhere? :)

The last picture we got of Schnider – September.

sept_1_09_a_032

Pictures from Schniders first Christmas and the month of December 2007 – 6 months old

December 283

Opening Presents

 

December 383

December 084

Kisses

December 622

Bathtime

December 159

Hanging out with Keith.  You can tell just how tiny he was from this picture.  Thats a 0-3 month sleeper.

December 672

Adorable

December 879

Bubbles

Leave a Reply

