We’re here!

Hello from Uganda!

We’re at our hotel in Uganda. It is pretty nice and seems very safe. I was surprised to see that the city here seems/feels much safer than Haiti, which was a pleasant surprise. We’ve seen a lot of foreigners (Americans, british, middle eastern, indian, chinese, etc) out and about since we’ve been here. It is much cleaner and looks much more developed then Haiti, which surprised me. I guess I expected it to be more rugged. I don’t know…

We went to sleep late (time change!) – I didn’t get to sleep until 4:30am and we didn’t wake up until 1pm here! Oops! I’m glad we got a little caught up on sleep though, we were both exhausted. Hopefully we’ll be able to sleep tonight.

Once we got up we headed out and grabbed a taxi. A ways down the road is a big mall. We had lunch at the “food court” and then did our grocery shopping at a large grocery store there. We got enough food to last us for the week, I think. I was happy with our groceries – everything is different brands than what we are used to but we found everything we wanted. Food court was fun – I was warned how things are done there but I forgot to tell Keith. You sit down and severs from each restaurant bombard you with menus and stand there waiting while you decide what to eat. It is different but worked out well. Our luches were really good. We exchanged money and bought a cell phone, which was a trip trying to figure out how to get it set up. We wandered the mall a little bit and then called the driver who brought us down to the mall to come get us and headed back to the hotel.

We’re back at the hotel now and getting ready to get everything unpacked and ready to meet Malachi tomorrow. I just talked to our lawyer and the plan is still for us to meet Malachi tomorrow (Tuesday). We have court on Thursday morning and I’m a bit nervous. Please pray that all goes well and our judge is happy with us. Please pray she gives us a quick ruling.

Internet isn’t free here (we thought it was going to be) so we may not email/blog as much as we hoped. Please pass this on to anyone who wants to know how we’re doing.

Please really pray that Malachi does OK tomororw. I know this is going to be traumatic for him. :(

We’ll update as we can.

8 Comments to “We’re here!”

  1. Praying for you guys!!! :D

  2. I’m glad you are safe! I’ll pray about your first meeting with malachi. Esther was suspicious of us the first few times we had her. A few days later she was a different child, what a joy it was to watch her personality blossom with us! You are bringing back memories! At first I felt so bad for the waitors I didn’t order from. I got over that.. I’ll be following the blog and praying!
    Hugs Mama Malachi!

  3. oh i am SO excited for you guys and that you are there! Would love to be there too but I know our time will hopefully come!

    Praying for you guys! Take care! Take lots of pictures! :0)

  4. He will do fine. It will be an adjustment, but he will be fine and you guys will be too.

    We used to type up things and then log on to the internet and cut & pastre so the time actually on line was minimal. Maybe that will help if you have access to word/word pad.

    Good luck, prayers from us that all goes smoothly and quickly!

  5. so excited for you guys Salem, and praying for a smooth transition for Malachi!! will be following along for travel tips!
    much love,
    tiffani

  6. Salem, it’s been a few years and I can see that you have been very busy. Your pictures are fabulous and your dedication to the things you are passionate about really shows. Congrats on your adoption and best wishes tomorrow. I wish you all the joy in the world.
    Love to Mom and Kensia.
    Your Friend,
    Robin

  7. Salem I am loving your story so far. Makes me remember it all. My kids and I are arriving on the 14th of Feb., so if you are still there (I hope you’re not but…) e-mail me your cel phone number we will definitely meet up!

  8. Yay! I’m very excited for you guys! I will pray all goes smoothly with Malachi and the judge’s ruling.

    *hugs and prayers*
    Wendy

Leave a Reply

