Today (Thursday)

Day 22 (Thursday)

What a day. WHEW! We’re exhausted!

Got up, had breakfast and came back to the room. Got Mayer down for his nap then I headed out on a Boda to visit Sanyu Babies Home. My Boda ride was uneventful except for the huge bug hitting my forehead and almost falling off while going over a speed bump. We got a little lost but finally found the Babies Home. As I was walking in I spotted Meghan (adoptive parent here to bring home her son). She showed me around a little bit and I had a chance to sit with the toddlers for a bit reading books and then going outside to play. It was nice to get to see a place I’ve heard so much about. I met Jade (another adoptive parent) and it was nice to put faces with names of people you’ve talked to online for so long. I hope we’ll be able to get together again to hang out while we’re here.
It was time for me to go, as I was going to try to get back to the hotel before Mayer got up from his nap. I went back out and caught another Boda back to the hotel. This driver didn’t know where our hotel was, so I did my best to give directions and point him the right way. I finally spotted some familiar landmarks and was able to direct him back to the hotel. I got back just as Mayer was waking up from his nap.
Keltie called and asked if we were interested in going to the Equator today. So shortly after we had lunch we got ready and went downstairs where Keltie, Crystal and the kids were waiting to pick us up in the SUV they are able to use while they are here. We piled in and started the LONG journey to the equator. OK – it really isn’t that long of a trip but it sure felt like it! It was HOT! We got stuck behind the presidential motorcade. The President was stopping in each small town along the way and because we weren’t allowed to pass him, we all had to stop too. Traffic was SO backed up, it took us forever to get there. We had to stop and ask for directions a few times but we finally made it! I was expecting more – it was fairly anti-climactic but how many times are we going to be able to stand on the equator? We browsed the craft shops, did our pictures and I paid 200 UGX to use the public toilet (YUCK). Everyone asked me to take a picture of the toilet flushing so we could see the water swirl the other direction, but there was no light in the bathroom – and the toilet didn’t flush. LOL. You can pay someone to show you the water swirling in these little things they have set up but it was crazy priced so we didn’t do it. We hung our for a bit then decided to head back. Our trip back to Kampala was a lot faster since we weren’t stopping in each little town.

We got back to Kampala about 6pm. As we’re stuck in a traffic jam close to the hotel many people come up to the windows trying to sell things – toys, knicknacks, water, food, car chargers, batteries, sunglasses shoes, etc One guy had some soccer balls. He stuck on up to the window and Mayer grabbed it right out of his hand. We had no intention of buying the ball so we quickly handed it back. Oh my goodness – Mayer had a complete and total meltdown. SCREAMING and crying. I did my best to distract and comfort him (we’re still stuck in a jam at this point) and he just keeps screaming and reaching towards the window. I look over and the guy is standing there laughing and teasing Mayer with the ball! I think he thought if M. cried loud enough we’d buy the ball. We tried waving him off but then a crowd gathered around this guy who walked over to the other side of the car by the window with the ball right by Mayer (we’d rolled the windows up at this point, but still he could see it). Finally Crystal puts her head out the window and firmly tells the guy to get lost. It was crazy – Mayer screamed for a long time until I finally found a granola bar in my bag and he calmed down.
When we got to the hotel we decided we’d all have dinner together. We have a good time talking with and getting to know Keltie, Crystal and the kids. It is so nice to have others to talk to going through the same things you are. Makes you feel much less isolated and alone in this whole crazy process!
By time dinner was over and we got back to the room it was about 8pm! We quickly goth Mayer a bath and to bed. We’re all exhausted. Tomorrow we have a meeting with our lawyer. I’m not sure the meeting between the lawyer and judges/officials actually happened today like we thought it would. I really got no news at all today regarding the status of things. Hopefully we’ll know more tomorrow. Please keep praying for a positive and quick resolution to this problem. At this point we have no idea how much longer this might take.

Posting pictures of our trip today. More soon…

4 Comments to “Today (Thursday)”

  1. At least you can say you were on the equator…I stood on Texas and Arkansas(at Texarkana)but it’s not quite as impressive, lol…

  2. SOUNDS PRETTY NEAT TO STAND ON THE EQUATOR. I SHOWED CHRISTOPHER AND COLLIN AND THEY WERE PRETTY IMPRESSED. COLLIN HAD ASKED ABOUT THE WATER GOING THE OTHER DIRECTION. WE ARE ALL STILL PRAYING AND KEEPING OUR FINGERS CROSSED THAT ALL GOES WELL AND QUICKLY. LET US KNOW IF THERE IS ANYTHING WE CAN DO.

  3. I have talked on the phone with keltie and she seems so sweet! So glad you all have each other there as your waiting to bring your children home! may I ask about the water swirling at the equator…what is so special…does being at the equator make the water swirl a different way? i was confused! :0)

  4. APRIL-THE WATER DOES SWIRL THE OTHER WAY SOUTH OF THE EQUATOR. WHATEVER WAY IT SWIRLS HERE IT IS OPPOSITE THERE. I AM ALWAYS CONFUSED ABOUT WHICH WAY IT GOES HERE-GUESS I NEVER PAY MUCH ATTENTION. :)

Leave a Reply

