Day 47 (monday)

(Day 47 – Monday)

Well – Keith is gone. :( I just looked his flight up online and see that it has landed in London. Oh, how I wish we were with him! I admit I haven’t handled his leaving very well. I was a crying mess that last couple of days. I know he didn’t want to leave us anymore than we wanted him leave. We don’t have a choice at this point. He has to get back to work soon and we just can’t afford both us being down here any longer. (We can’t afford me being down here any longer either but again, I don’t have a choice at this point.)

Speaking of money (I hate that topic) we are very close to running out. Completely. We had enough money to stay here for 3 weeks. We have stretched that, along with help from family & friends, for an extra 3 weeks (we’ve been here for 6 weeks so far) but I have no idea what we are going to do if this drags on much longer. Right now we have enough to last to the end of this week. Please pray about this. I HATE HATE HATE talking about money. I hate it. But I’m getting desperate. We need at least $280/week for housing in order for me to continue staying here. It seems like so much. But I just can not leave my son. The very thought makes me sick to my stomach. As much as I want to go home, I can’t leave him here. I don’t know what it would do to his little heart if I had to leave him when our attachment and trust is still so fragile and in the process of being built. I would love to hear any and all ideas.

Today is a public holiday here (Womans Day!) so not much is happening. I have heard through the grape vine that we may hear something tomorrow. I don’t know how reliable that information is, but I’m still hoping it is true. I’m tired of getting my hopes up that something will happen on a specific day. So I’m not getting my hopes up but praying that if it is the Lords will it will happen.

In other news – the director of the RUHU orphanage and the little boy that was just diagnosed with HIV have a meeting with Watoto this morning to talk about if Hamani can come live in a Watoto village. I’m really praying this will work out for him. I honestly think that this is about the best option in Uganda for this little boy.

Mayer continues to do very well. Our attachment seems stronger every day. He is loving and affection with me, shy around strangers. He is saying “I love you” a lot now, on his own without being prompted. It is crazy cute and sweet. He is really starting to talk more – mostly repeating words in English that we say. He will say and sign “please” now, as well as thank you and more. He says up, no, yes (yesh), uh-oh, please, more, bye-bye, hey, baby, shoes in English as well as a handful of words in his native language that we’ve kept us with. The ringworm spot on his head doesn’t seem to be getting better yet despite oral and topical medicine. He has been very healthy otherwise. He really likes burying himself under a pile of pillows and then popping out to surprise us. He loves to be thrown onto the bed now onto a pile of pillows and will jump up signing “more” when after each throw. He really seems to be growing in the 6 weeks we’ve had him. He’s slimming down and getting taller.

Thank you all for your prayers and continued support and interest in our situation. I never dreamed this would be such a battle but I keep telling myself that our little guy is worth every fight and battle we have to go through to get him home.

5 Comments to “Day 47 (monday)”

  1. GEESH! I REALLY HATE THAT FOR YOU GUYS. I BET IT WAS HARD FOR BOTH OF YOU WHEN KEITH LEFT. MY HEART WOULD BE BROKEN AS WELL. KEITH AND SALEM I WILL TRY TO HELP OUT AS MUCH AS I CAN. I DON’T HAVE MUCH BUT A LITTLE WILL AT LEAST HELP. I KNOW KEITH IS GOING TO BE HERE ON WEDNESDAY I THINK SO MAYBE I CAN GIVE HIM SOME MONEY THEN. TAKE CARE SALEM. IT WILL ALL WORK OUT. LOVE YA!

  2. Esther had ringworm on her scalp too. On average it takes about six to eight weeks of the oral medication to get better. Looks like you caught it on Mayer much sooner than we did on Esther. By the time we got her on medication it was the circumfrence of a baseball. At it’s worse it has spread to her entire scalp, ear and lymphnodes. at about week six (with the addition of steroids) it started getting better, came back, then was gone for good about week eight of medication. I know it’s the last thing you want to hear but, be patient with the medicine, it takes a while to build up in the hair folicles.

  3. LOVE and PRAYERS I can only imagine how difficult Keith having to come home is.I am sending a little and wish it could be more.I am sure God will help take care of you needs.Mayer is such a cutie can hardly wait to meet him.Stay strong,we here all wait for the great news of the home coming.HUGS

  4. praying so hard for you and this whole situation. SO glad your attachment with mayer is getting better each and every day!

  5. Salem,
    One thought on the funds. Could you set up a PayPal account where people could donate to? You could put it here on your blog. Would you be able to access the funds there if you did that? Just thinking outloud…. :)
    dawnz

Leave a Reply

