Where does the time go?

Can someone explain to me how it is the middle of November already?

I just can’t believe it.  The last 5.5 months since Mayer came home have just gone crazy fast.  This entire year has gone crazy fast.  We left for Africa in January – came home in April, spent most of May fighting with the government to get Mayer home, brought him home June 1 and it has been go, go, go ever since!  I feel like I skipped half of the year!

So what is keeping me so busy?  Well parenting (of course!), volunteer responsibilities and WORK.  I have no idea how many hours a week I’m working right now, but everything added up is probably a lot.  Thankfully I can either work from home or take Mayer with me so we’re hardly ever apart.  I’m still working for my parents in addition to working for AAI.  I’m LOVING my new job with AAI.   I am so excited about our program.  I see it as a program with two equally important focuses – family preservation/orphan prevention and adoption.    Helping place already orphaned children into families while supporting or implementing programs in Uganda that support vulnerable families so they don’t feel like abandoning their children is their only hope.   I’m really happy about the connections we’re making.  It seems like slow going at first but we’re picking up some momentum and not only will be have children being united with their new parents soon,  we’re able to contribute to some great organizations doing wonderful things to help keep families together.  Doesn’t get much better than that in my opinion!

Mayer continues to do great.  He is still dealing with some jealousy issues with F. while we’re at my moms house but we’re working on it.  He is such a funny, happy little guy and we’re having so much fun with him.  I can’t wait to experience his first holiday season with him!

Keith and I trying to finish Mayer’s adoption before the end of the year.  We are cutting it REALLY close.  We are still waiting for our post-placement report to come back from the agency.  As soon as it comes (we are hoping this week) we will turn everything into the court and pray we can get a court date and ruling before January 1.   We really need that tax credit this year.  Not only do we still owe money on Mayers adoption we really need to get paid back, we are praying about a special needs baby that really needs a family.   Please pray with us that we can get this done sooner rather than later.

Now lastly – I saw this on another blog and thought we’d try it.   I get questions now and again from people – ranging from people just curious about our family to people interested in our adoption process and people just interested in adoption in general.  So ask away.  You can email me (sister_haiti@yahoo.com) or you can post a comment.  I’ll work on the answers and try to make a blog post soon with the Q’s and A’s (if they are appropriate of course!).   Sound fun?  I think so too.  :)

 

One Comment to “Where does the time go?”

  1. You and Keith are truly blessed! I am so happy for the both of you. Mayer is absolutely beautiful! I would love to see the expression on his face when he sees a Christmas tree with all the decorations and lights! Hugs and kisses to all!

Leave a Reply

