Is your family missing an amazingly adorable and sweet 4 year old boy?  

If so, Let me introduce you to AJ.  

I became aware of AJ at the beginning of December when I saw his picture posted on a friends facebook wall.

I may have gasped a little at how adorable he was.
Be. Still. My. Heart.   

Let me tell you a little bit about this sweet boy.

AJ is an orphan.  He lives at a wonderful children’s home in Honduras.    He just turned 4 in November and is described by his caregivers as having a strong spirit, love of adventure, and compassionate heart.   He loves to get down in the dirt and play with trucks and cars.  AJ is quite the conversationalist, very affectionate and very curious.   He is so loved by his caregivers in Honduras but they know that AJ needs a forever family.

AJ has a form of dwarfism that only affects him from the waist down.  He can not walk but is proficient at using his wheelchair.   He appears to be cognitively and developmentally on track.

Adoptions from Honduras do not appear to be very easy.  I have been in touch with the attorney who will process his adoption and gotten some basic information.  Because this is a child with special needs some parts of the process may be easier than normal and I’m told things may be expedited.   Families should still expect the process to take 12+ months.  Families will be required to take 2 trips to Honduras.   The first trip of about a week to meet the child and start the adoption process.   I’m told the second trip would be a trip of approximately 4-6 weeks.   The second trip might be able to be broken up into a third trip, so the family doesn’t have to stay so long.   The adoption can be done independently or through an agency.

 I am still trying to figure out the fees that may be required.  The attorney fees in Uganda will be between $5,000 – $8,000.   Travel seems like it could be in the $10,000 – $12,000 range with plane tickets, hotels, transportation, food, etc.  I would guess families should expect that the adoption will be upwards of $20,000+ even if adopting independently.   Agency fees would likely add another $5,000 – $7,000 onto that (depending on the agency).    I am happy to help any family through the process if they need it.  Anything from help with paperwork, fundraising, researching grants, information on parenting special needs children, etc.   Whatever is needed.
I just want to see this amazing little boy find a family as soon as possible.  

Families for children like AJ are found when people network.  I’m asking you to please share this post with your family and friends.  Post it on your facebook.  Link to it from your blog.  The more people that see this post, the more likely we are to find AJ’s forever family.  

Are you interested in becoming AJ’s forever family?   
Please contact me and let me know you’d like more information.  I’ll put you in touch with the right people! 

 

Leave a Reply

