Waiting Children in Liberia

After Tuesday’s post, I was contacted by a volunteer for special needs orphans in Liberia.  She asked for help with advocating for some very special little ones who are in need of forever families.

Last night as I was looking at these sweet children and reading through their listings, I admit the first thing that popped into my mind was “There won’t be many families interested in these kids.”   I hate automatically negative thoughts like that, but it’s just reality: their special needs sound scary, there isn’t much information available on them personally, and this isn’t one of the “popular” adoption countries.

I sat there awhile and re-read their profiles.  I was thinking about how we could best advocate for them when a thought came to me: This could have been Benjamin.  This could have been my son’s photolisting.  

I started to imagine what it would have said: ”Two year old boy with multiple special needs.  Microcephaly, Pierre Robin Sequence, cleft palate, cerebral palsy, heart condition, hard of hearing, does not eat by mouth – completely tube fed.  Doesn’t walk, non-verbal.  Then the obligatory, “he is a very sweet and loving little boy who needs a family.”

Then the thought, Who would have looked at his profile twice?  Would I?

If I had not met and fallen in love with my son two years ago would I have dismissed his photolisting?  I’ve looked at many descriptions over the years of kids with far fewer special needs listed and thought they sounded too overwhelming.
I’ve seen those same kids wait for years, being passed over by families time and again. Kids with fewer special needs then my own beloved son.

I sit writing this in tears.  The very thought that we could have missed out on our amazing little boy is overwhelming.  I can’t even begin to explain how much we love and admire him.  His special needs sound scary, I know.  But I hope you can hear this cry that wells up within me, spilling out as a plea to be understood that he is not his special needs!  That isn’t who he IS, but what affects him.  He is an absolute joy to us and to our family and friends. He’s our beautiful, amazingly strong little boy who is chewing up and spitting out developmental milestones that his doctors never dreamed possible.   In less than a year of being with us, he’s progressed further than some doctors thought he would in his entire life.  He will walk, he will talk.  He does and will have a fulfilling life.

These kids are just like my Benjamin. Their special needs sound scary and maybe overwhelming.  But who knows what they’ll be capable of in the right environment?  The pictures below show children who have never been in a modern medical system. They’ve never had the love of a determined and committed family to provide them with what they need to thrive.  These children have so much potential.

Would you please consider them, pray for them, and pass along their information to everyone you know who might be potential parents for special little ones?

The fine print:  These adoptions will be completed by Angels Haven agency in CA.  Fee is $8,500 which does not include homestudy, USCIS, or travel (one parent must spend approximately 2 weeks in-country). No family size requirement.  If you’re thinking that Liberia’s adoption program is closed, you’re right.  But the country is making exceptions for children with special needs and these children are ready for adoptive families to bring them home!  

(I do not work for, nor do I receive compensation from Angels Haven.  Frankly, I know nothing about them, and you should do your own research into this agency before proceeding.)

4 Responses to “Waiting Children in Liberia”

  1. Oh my goodness they are all so precious. There is atleast one that has really stolen my heart! I hope more people come to realize that there is more to these children than the list of special needs. When you have a child in your arms that list means nothing anymore!

  2. Cara Helberg who runs Angels Haven has helped us with all five of our adoptions and is amazing! I highly recommend her.

  3. I would love to talk more to anyone that has used that agency or adopted from Liberia!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

