Sleep

Sometimes I think the children are plotting against us….conspiring before they go to bed.  Figuring out what they can do to allow us as little sleep as possible during the night.

Last night I fell asleep about midnight.  At 3:45 I felt Keith shaking me awake.  Benja was crying loudly and making his almost throwing up noises.  We jumped out of bed.  Keith went to comfort Ben while I prepped some Tylenol for his tube.  {He’s teething.}  We got it in him and I sat in his room to rock him back to sleep.

About 4:15 I laid him in his crib and headed back to bed.  I {stupidly} decided to check my email to see if a reply I’m waiting for from Uganda came.  It wasn’t there so I sat in bed glaring at my phone for a good 10 minutes trying to decide whether I should call this person and beg for information, send another email or just continue to wait.  It was too much to think about in the middle of the night so I, of course, decided to check my other emails.  Keith stayed up too because he has to leave for work at 5.

I finally started to doze again after Keith left but then I feel little hands tugging on my arm.  Mayer announced that he and Jovia are awake.   I asked Mayer to go back to bed and went to tell Jovia it’s too early and to go back to sleep.   Once more I climb back into bed hoping for just one. more. hour.  

It wasn’t to be.

Soon Mayer starts yelling that he needs help in the bathroom.   He asks to stay up.  I tell him to go play quietly in his room.  .05 seconds later he comes in and declares he is bored.  I gave him my phone to play Angry Birds.  He narrates every move loudly and with great enthusiasm. I decided to give up on sleep at that point.  I asked Mayer to give me my phone so I could turn off the alarm.

“What’s an alarm, mommy?”

“That’s when my phone rings and tells me it’s time to get up.”

“But mom, you don’t need an alarm!  I always wake you up!”  {Satisfied smile}

So true.

Leave a Reply

